Slide IMPERIAL MACHINE PROJECTION Slide IMPERIAL MACHINE VITRINE Slide IMPERIAL MACHINE - BOOK Slide IMPERIAL MACHINE - VITRINE Slide IMPERIAL MACHINE - VITRINE Slide IMPERIAL MACHINE - VITRINE - STALIN Slide IMPERIAL MACHINE - VITRINE Slide IMPERIAL MACHINE - VITRINE Slide IMPERIAL MACHINE - VITRINE - OBJECT Slide IMPERIAL MACHINE - VITRINE - OBJECT Slide IMPERIAL MACHINE - VITRINE - OBJECT Slide IMPERIAL MACHINE - VITRINE - OBJECT Slide IMPERIAL MACHINE - VITRINE - OBJECT Slide IMPERIAL MACHINE - VITRINE - OBJECT Slide IMPERIAL OBJECTS - BOOK Slide IMPERIAL OBJECTS - BOOK Slide IMPERIAL OBJECTS - BOOK Slide IMPERIAL OBJECTS - BOOK Slide IMPERIAL OBJECTS - BOOK Slide IMPERIAL OBJECTS - BOOK

imperial machine

2020, site­spe­cif­ic instal­la­tion con­sist­ing of Dark Mat­ter (4K Video 19‘52“, col­or, sound), Impe­r­i­al Objects (publication,136 pages, 24 × 17 cm, thread-sewn hard­cov­er), glass show­cas­es, trape­zoidal sheet met­al, objects

Trape­zoidal sheet steel dom­i­nates first impres­sions of the instal­la­tion Impe­r­i­al Machine (2020). Wide­ly used in an indus­tri­al con­text, this mate­r­i­al is easy to trans­port and weath­er­proof. It has been used to con­struct a tall square exhi­bi­tion space; its foot­print and tow­er­ing form are rem­i­nis­cent of a dia­mond mine ele­va­tor. Build­ings like this are char­ac­ter­is­tic of the dia­mond min­ing indus­tri­al com­plex in the for­mer USSR and can be rec­og­nized from a great dis­tance. At the cen­ter of the instal­la­tion Impe­r­i­al Machine (2020) is the film Dark Mat­ter (2020), which shows the dif­fer­ent forms and con­se­quences of dia­mond min­ing. The encroach­ment on the land­scape is clear­ly vis­i­ble here, but the film does not com­ment on the author­i­ties respon­si­ble nor on their motives. In the illu­mi­nat­ed dis­play cas­es near the pro­jec­tion, var­i­ous objects are com­bined with one anoth­er, their con­texts and mean­ings inter­twined: a pen­sion book, a work­book, a bust of Stal­in, refrig­er­a­tor mag­nets illus­trat­ed with large Russ­ian min­ing trucks.

They allude to the orga­ni­za­tion­al prin­ci­ples that struc­ture and gov­ern Yaku­tia as a resource with­in the for­mer Sovi­et Union. The rep­re­sen­ta­tions of finan­cial motives over­lap with polit­i­cal­ly moti­vat­ed con­trol mech­a­nisms. In their var­i­ous forms and mul­ti-part arrange­ment, the exhibits on dis­play com­mu­ni­cate the impos­si­bil­i­ty of find­ing sim­ple answers in the post-Sovi­et periph­ery. Ques­tions about a gen­er­al his­tor­i­cal truth or his­tor­i­cal fac­tu­al­i­ty are inad­e­quate and remain unan­swered. The clues pro­vid­ed by these objects relat­ing to the land­scape of Yaku­tia are, over time, com­piled lay­er by lay­er in the book Impe­r­i­al Objects (2020). The artist’s book jux­ta­pos­es per­son­al sto­ries with var­i­ous obser­va­tions and expe­ri­ences con­nect­ed to the large-scale state exper­i­men­tal under­tak­ings of (post-)Soviet pow­er inter­ests.

imperial machine

2020, ortsspezifische Installation bestehend aus Dark Matter (4K-Video 19‘52“, Farbe, Ton), Imperial Objects (Publikation, 132 Seiten, 24 × 17 cm, fadengeheftetes Hardcover), Glasvitrinen, Trapezblech, Objekte

Der erste Eindruck der Installation Imperial Machine (2020) wird von Trapezblech dominiert. Das ist ein im industriellen Kontext verbreiteter, leicht zu transportierender und wetterbeständiger Werkstoff. Daraus wurde ein quadratischer, in die Höhe ragender Ausstellungsraum konstruiert, der in seiner Grundfläche und erhöhten Form einem Diamantminenfahrstuhl nachempfunden ist. Solche Gebäude sind charakteristisch für den industriellen Komplex des Diamantenabbaus in der ehemaligen UDSSR und auch aus weiter Entfernung erkennbar. Im Zentrum der Installation Imperial Machine (2020) steht der Film Dark Matter (2020), bei dem die Formen und Konsequenzen des Diamantenabbaus gezeigt werden. Der Eingriff in die Landschaft ist dabei deutlich erkennbar, jedoch werden weder die verantwortlichen Instanzen, noch die dazugehörigen Motive im Film kommentiert. In den ausgeleuchteten Vitrinen, die sich nicht weit von der Projektion befinden, werden verschiedene Objekte miteinander kombiniert – ihre Zusammenhänge und Bedeutungen dabei ineinander verschränkt: ein Rentenbuch, ein Arbeitsbuch, eine Stalinbüste, Kühlschrankmagneten bebildert mit russischen Großmuldenkippern.

Sie deuten auf Organisationsprinzipien hin, die Jakutien als Ressource innerhalb der ehemaligen Sowjetunion strukturieren und verwalten. Die Repräsentationen monetärer Absichten überschneiden sich hier mit politisch motivierten Kontrollmenchanismen. Die ausgestellten Exponate in ihren verschiedenen Formen und mehrteiliger Anordnung deuten auf die Unmöglichkeit hin, einfache Antworten in der postsowjetischen Peripherie zu finden. Fragen nach einer allgemeinen historischen Wahrheit oder geschichtlichen Faktizität sind demnach unzureichend und bleiben offen. Schließlich werden Indizien der Objekte, die mit der jakutischen Landschaft in Verbindung stehen, schichtweise in dem Buch Imperial Objects (2020) zusammengetragen. Im Künstlerbuch werden persönliche Geschichten, verschiedene Beobachtungen und Erlebnisse in Bezug auf die großangelegten staatlichen Experimentiervorhaben (post)sowjetischer Machtinteressen gegenüber gestellt.