objects and artifacts​

2018, Mixed media video installation, consisting of HD-video, 19'19'', color, sound, gravel pile 300 x 500 cm

In Objects and Artifacts, shot in Murmansk, a port city above the Arctic Circle in Russia, the harsh natural environment is interwoven with human-made structures to create a sublime and boundless landscape. Amid these vistas, tiny human figures occasionally appear. At the end, the Alyosha Memorial to the Defenders of the Soviet Arctic During the Great Patriotic War towers on a hill, with people standing in front of the monument over 40 meters in height. People dwarfed by a colossal statue erected by the state, and living in the midst of mechanized structures that imply the entirety of the industrial system: when we see these people engulfed by powerful systems, which mere individuals are powerless to resist, we may be seeing a portrait of ourselves.

Takeshi Matsuoka

Interview​

Lighcone Paris, 22th February, 2021

Where exactly is located the "post-apocalyptic landscape" of OBJECTS AND ARTIFACTS and how did you get there?

OBJECTS AND ARTIFACTS was filmed in Yakutia and the Murmansk Oblast of the Russian Federation. Both are areas known for heavy industry. I was interested in this area in regard to its strategic importance to the Soviet Union as well as Russia today. In these places, vast amounts of mineral resources are extracted, including nickel, oil, diamonds, apatite, nepheline, and gold. Both are also areas that are close to the Arctic Circle and thus have a significant impact on living and working conditions.

 

These areas are not truly representative of the Soviet Union, nor are many aware of their importance. When people talk about specific places of Russia or the USSR, they usually refer to Moscow or Saint Petersburg. And yet these places were of enormous importance in terms of economic and geopolitical supremacy. Without access to these resources, history would have been written differently. In the patina of the ruins and rusting industrial complexes, so much historicity stands out, which has been deposited in the sedimentary layers of heavy metals over many decades.

Can you elaborate on the film's enigmatic title and on your formal approach as a filmmaker?

The title of the film refers to a way of dealing with the past that is very peculiar to the Russian landscape. Perhaps it has to do with the immense size of the country. Especially in the places where many industrial complexes were built in a short period of time, there are relatively many ruins of older versions of the built facilities. Ghost towns from the time of the USSR are much more common. Traveling around Russia, I can't shake the feeling that the country has shrunk, as if a greater civilization and activity had taken place here before. The many ruins and old industrial areas from the Soviet era, which are still scattered all over the country like relics, seem to me like a kind of time capsule. In the film I have tried to capture these time capsules, which vegetate fluidly from one era to the next.

Can you tell us a bit more about your political and ecological concerns with the post-Soviet landscape?

In the project, I was interested in understanding the confluence of ideology and its materialization within industrial localities or territories. The extraction of minerals and raw materials is directly linked to geopolitical strategies. This process is linked to intertwined questions of identity and nation. I have chosen a filmic form with little commentary to confront these questions because I think that cinematic aesthetics can create new connections on the perceptual level. I also think that the cinematic observation of the post-Soviet landscape can raise the question of a fundamental way of dealing with matter. Whether a soviet multi-ethnic state or a new federal structure orders, manages, and structures the Russian landscape, the question of accountability on a global level remains the same. In my work, I try to confront this complexity with different stylistic approaches.

objects and artifacts

objects and artifacts

2019, Mixed-Media-Videoinstallation, bestehend aus HD-Video, 16‘05“, Farbe, Ton, Trapezblech

In Objects and Artifacts, der in Murmansk, einer Hafenstadt oberhalb des Polarkreises in Russland, gedreht wurde, verwebt sich die raue Natur mit von Menschenhand geschaffenen Strukturen zu einer erhabenen und grenzenlosen Landschaft. Inmitten dieser Aussichten tauchen gelegentlich winzige menschliche Figuren auf. Am Ende ragt das Aljoscha-Denkmal für die Verteidiger der sowjetischen Arktis während des Großen Vaterländischen Krieges auf einem Hügel empor, und die Menschen stehen vor dem über 40 Meter hohen Denkmal. Menschen, die von einer kolossalen, vom Staat errichteten Statue in den Schatten gestellt werden und inmitten mechanisierter Strukturen leben, die die Gesamtheit des industriellen Systems andeuten: Wenn wir diese Menschen sehen, die von mächtigen Systemen verschlungen werden, denen der Einzelne nichts entgegenzusetzen hat, sehen wir vielleicht ein Porträt von uns selbst.

 

Takeshi Matsuoka

objects and artifacts

Interview​

Lighcone Paris, 22th February, 2021

Where exactly is located the "post-apocalyptic landscape" of OBJECTS AND ARTIFACTS and how did you get there?

OBJECTS AND ARTIFACTS wurde gefilmt in Jakutien und der Murmansk Oblast der Russischen Föderation. Beides sind Gebiete bekannt für die Schwerindustrie. Mich hat diese Gegend interessiert im Bezug auf ihre strategische Bedeutung für die Sowjetunion sowie das heutige Russland. An diesen Orten werden Unmengen an Bodenschätzen gewonnen wie unter anderem Nickel, Öl, Diamanten, Apatit, Nephelin und Gold. Beides sind auch Gebiet die nah am arktischen Zirkel liegen und sich damit erheblich auf Lebens- und Arbeitsbedingungen auswirken.

 

Diese Gebiete sind nicht wirklich repräsentativ für die Sowjetunion und vielen ist deren Bedeutung auch nicht bekannt. Wenn man über spezifische Orte Russlands oder der UdSSR spricht, bezieht man sich meistens auf Moskau oder Sankt Petersburg. Und doch waren diese Orte von enormer Bedeutung was die wirtschaftliche und geopolitische Vormachtstellung der UdSSR anging. Ohne den Zugang zu diesen Ressourcen hätte eine andere Geschichtsschreibung stattgefunden. In der Patina der Ruinen und rostenden Industriekomplexe zeichnet soviel Geschichtlichkeit ab, die sich über viele Jahrzehnte in den sedimentierenden Schichten der Schwermetalle eingelagert hat.

Can you elaborate on the film's enigmatic title and on your formal approach as a filmmaker?

Der Titel des Films bezieht sich auf eine der russische Landschaft sehr eigenen Art und Weise mit Vergangenheit umzugehen. Vielleicht hat es mit der emensen Größe des Landes zutun. Speziell an den Orten, an denen viele industrielle Komplexe in kürzester Zeit erbaut worden sind, gibt es verhältnismäßig viele Ruinen älterer Versionen der gebauten Einrichtungen. Geisterstädte aus der Zeit der UdSSR sind viel verbreitet. Beim Reisen durch Russland werde ich das Gefühl nicht los, dass das Land geschrumpft sei, als ob vorher eine größere Zivilisation und ein größeres Geschehen hier stattgefunden hatte. Die vielen Ruinen und alten Industrieareale aus der Sowiezeit, die bis heute wie Relikte überall im Land verteilt sind wirken auf mich wie eine Art Zeitkapsel. In dem Film habe ich versucht diese Zeitkapseln, die fließend von einer Epoche in die nächste vegetieren einzufangen.

Can you tell us a bit more about your political and ecological concerns with the post-Soviet landscape?

In dem Projekt hat mich das Zusammendenken von Ideologie und deren Materialisierung innerhalb industrieller Ortschaften oder Territorien interessiert. Der Abbau von Mineralien und Rohstoffen ist direkt an geopolitische Strategien geknüpft. An diesem Prozess sind ineinander verschränkte Fragestellungen nach Identität und Nation geknüpft. Ich habe eine wenig kommentierende filmische Form gewählt diesen Fragestellungen zu begegnen, weil ich denke das kinematische Ästhetisierung neue Verknüpfungen auf der Ebene der Wahrnehmung schaffen können. Ich denke auch dass die filmische Betrachtung der postsovietischen Landschaft die Frage nach einem grundsätzlichen Umgangs mit Materie hervorrufen kann. Ob ein sovietischer Vielvölkerstaat oder eine neue föderale Struktur die russische Landschaft ordnet, verwaltet und strukturiert, die Frage nach Verantwortlichkeit auf globaler Ebene bleibt immer die selbe. In meiner Arbeit versuche ich dieser Komplexität mit verschiedenen Stilmitteln zu begegnen.

objects and artifacts